Identity Crisis

 

When Moses was on the mountain talking to God, who was in the form of a burning bush, Moses asked who he should say had sent him with a message to Israel. God answered:

 Exo 3:14 And God said to Moses, I AM THAT I AM.

Wow! What an incredible sense of identity!

I have always struggled with the issue of “self”. As a “people pleaser”, I have always tried to accommodate other’s; have always “adapted” myself to the person(s) or situation. I was an internal “shape shifter”. I tried very hard to be the daughter, wife, mother, friend, employee, and Christian that I thought everyone, including God,  wanted me to be. I built my life around what I could do and be for others.

Image result for copyright free images of identity crisis tomato

When the world of my life collapsed around me, my life changed drastically, and I lost all the identities in which I had been living. I was no longer a wife. My children had left home so I was no longer a parent. I lost my home so I was no longer a home-maker. I had to move away so I was no longer a member of my community, a neighbour or a friend. And I had to leave my church and my ministry so I was no longer a leader.

I felt cast adrift and completely lost.

After a while, I decided to try to make the best of the situation by taking the time to try and figure out who I really was inside and who I wanted to be. I wish that I could say that I had an epiphany and got it all figured out – but I didn’t.

However, I was greatly helped when I discovered a list of verses from the Bible which outlined the Truth of who and what I am in Jesus Christ. Here is a list of  “I AM” statements from Neil Anderson’s “Living Free in Christ”:

Image result for who i am in christ

I think that I should print this list and stick it somewhere I can read it every day in hopes that it might finally sink into this thick skull of mine!

I pray that we all will stop carrying around false ID!

Blessings

 

One thought on “Identity Crisis

  1. Amen! In Christ we live we move, and have our being!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

