This Post is Raw

This was written by a lovely young woman who follows my blog. She also rights one of her own called Beauty Beyond Bones where, among other things, she shares her battle with an eating disorder and of her faith in Jesus that helps her to overcome. I reblog her post to honour her.

BeautyBeyondBones

I had been putting off writing this post for about a month and a half.

National Eating Disorders Awareness Week.

Feb 26-March 4

I had been dreading writing this post because, obviously BBB is an eating disorder recovery blog, so I feel kinda…obligated…to address the topic, but honestly, I’m kinda luke warm on the whole “awareness” thing.

It just seems a little…glorifying if you ask me. And I have a problem with that. Don’t throw around photos of healthy-yet-slightly-thin girls in stock photos pretending to be sad, or even worse, smiling and holding a piece of pizza, and gloat that you’re raising “awareness” or fighting the stigma. The theme: “It’s time to talk about it…” that’s borderline insulting.

c5odff2u0ammqsj

Why don’t you ask the mother whose daughter died of heart failure due to anorexia, or my mother when I was 78 pounds and she was checking on…

View original post 1,293 more words

Leave a Reply

