Besieged

Psa 31:21 Blessed is Jehovah; for He has worked His mercy wondrously in a besieged city.

 

This past year has been filled with challenges, for both myself and for my loved ones. It has often felt like I was living in Minas Tirith during the attack by the Morgul orcs of Mordor. (Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings)

1Ki 20:1 And Ben-hadad the king of Syria gathered all his army together. And thirty-two kings were with him, and horses and chariots. And he went up and laid siege to Samaria, and warred against it. 

My darling hubby suffered so many migraines that he used up all his sick days and holidays and then had to miss work so paycheques shrunk.

Our finances were stretched to the limit. We barely lived paycheque to paycheque, and only by the grace of God alone.

I have battled very painful inflamed sacroiliac joints in my lower spine, plantar fasciitis in my foot , a damaged nerve in my heel, and I am now dealing with inflammation in my eye which has severely affected my vision.

Both my hubby and I have been fighting fatigue, anxiety and depression.

Because of financial difficulties, my oldest son has had to move his family in with his mother-in-law. The ensuing stress has caused him to have a mental crisis. Now he is dealing with his wife and daughter having to live two hours away. That little girl is the light of his life.

My youngest son bought his first house last summer but two weeks later he was injured at work. He has been off work ever since and has had to have surgery and physiotherapy. He has since found out that more damage was done than originally thought and has to undergo more surgery. He also has a baby daughter.

My mother has been experiencing severe pain in her spine and is awaiting test results.

WHAM! WHAM! WHAM! The enemy is battering at the gates! The ground trembles and the walls shake. We try to stand but we are knocked to our knees time and time again. We seek shelter from the enemy’s fiery darts.

But though the battle rages, I remind myself that I did not build my house on sand.

Mat 7:26, 27 And everyone who hears these sayings of Mine and does not do them shall be compared to a foolish man who built his house on the sand.  And the rain came down, and the floods came, and the wind blew and beat on that house. And it fell, and great was its fall. 

Rather, I have built my house on the solid rock – the teachings of Jesus Christ.

Mat 7:24, 25 Therefore whoever hears these sayings of Mine, and does them, I will liken him to a wise man who built his house on a rock. And the rain came down, and the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house. And it did not fall, for it was founded on a rock.

My house is built on a foundation that has Jesus Christ as the supporting cornerstone.

Eph 2:19, 20 Now therefore you are no longer strangers and foreigners, but fellow citizens with the saints, and of the household of God, and are built upon the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Jesus Christ Himself being the chief cornerstone,

When it seems like the forces of Hell are bombarding me, I run to God who is my refuge, my fortress, my strong tower.

Psa 18:2 Jehovah is my strength, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my rock; I will trust in Him; He is my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower.

Pro 18:10 The name of Jehovah is a strong tower; the righteous man runs into it and is safe. 

I am so thankful that when the enemy seems to be encamped about me, and tribulations besiege me, I have a merciful, compassionate, loving God to whom I can turn and in whom I can trust to take care of me and my loved ones.

Psa 59:16 But I will sing of Your power; yes, I will sing aloud of Your mercy in the morning; for You have been my strong tower and hiding-place in the day of my trouble. 

Blessings

 

 

2 thoughts on “Besieged

  1. BelleUnruh says:

    You are going through a real time of trouble. I’m so sorry and I pray God will help you and all of your family.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

