The Big “C”

According to the Bladder Cancer Canada Facebook page, February 4th is World Cancer Day.

I don’t think that there are too many people in the world who have not been affected themselves, or have not had a loved one or a friend affected by cancer. In my own small world, my grandfather, grandmother, mother, a niece, and myself have all had personal experiences with one form or another of that dreaded disease.

Cancer – the big “C”. Nobody wants to hear that diagnosis! I remember how shocked I was when I was told that I had bladder cancer. I had never even heard of bladder cancer! I mean, as a woman I knew about breast, cervical, uterine, and ovarian cancer – but whoever talks about bladder cancer??

After the initial shock had worn off a bit, the first thing that I wanted to know was “how/why” did I get bladder cancer? The doctor told me that the primary causes of bladder cancer are smoking and exposure to certain hazardous chemicals. I was/am not a smoker and I had not been exposed to the hazardous chemicals – HOWEVER – I lived for almost 27 years with someone who was a smoker! The negative affects of second-hand smoke had struck again it would seem.

By the grace of God, those of us in my family who have battled “the big C” survived the disease – Praise God!

I have now been cancer-free for the past 5 years. While I am hoping that my cancer has been cured once and for all, bladder cancer has an 80% rate of recurrence. According to my urologist/oncologist, I will never be considered truly free or healed of cancer, which means that I will have to have a yearly bladder scan for the rest of my life. Small price to pay to be on the safe side.

While the initial diagnosis that I had “the big C” was shocking, scary and stressful, I knew that I would not be alone during the battle because I also had “THE BIG C” –  who is Christ Jesus. Christ was with me during the tests. Christ was with me during the diagnosis. Christ, and his peace, were with me during the surgery. Christ was with me during the treatments. And Christ was with me when new tumours were found on two separate occasions.

I don’t know how anybody gets through life threatening issues like “the big C” of cancer without also having THE BIG C” of Christ Jesus in their life. Jesus Christ has been my strength, my comfort, my hope and my peace.

I pray that neither you nor your loved ones will ever have to deal with “the big C” of cancer. But I do pray that you and your loved ones will be filled with “THE BIG C” of Christ Jesus.

Php 4:7 And the peace of God which passes all understanding shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. 

Blessings

 

One thought on “The Big “C”

  1. Julie says:

    Dear Heart:
    Thank you so much for the kind note regarding my migraines you left on my blog. I’ve added you to my prayer list regarding your continued healing from bladder cancer. So good to hear you’re still doing well after 5 years. The Lord blesses us beyond measure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

