Sanctuary

Psa 9:9 Jehovah also will be a refuge for the oppressed, a refuge in times of trouble.

 

When my hubby and I got married, we were both starting over again, basically from scratch. We slowly worked together to create a home of our own with the dream of eventually owning our own home once again. Our dream came true a year ago and we are now blessed to own a cute little house in cottage country.

It is a smaller, older building which started out as an even smaller cottage. We don’t have a lot of money to do upgrades and renovations but we are trying to put our own personal stamp on the place, one room at a time. Currently, I am painting the boring kitchen cupboards a dark red and will accent the centers of each panel with textured wallpaper that I have painted to look like vintage pressed tin. It will definitely NOT be a “trendy cookie cutter” style kitchen, but it will reflect my personality (fun and a bit quirky).

My favourite room in the house is our bedroom. We made a master bedroom out of the addition that had originally been added on as a sunken den. We have a gas fireplace and patio doors leading out to the back yard which has a bird feeder where we can enjoy watching nature. There is also a skylight through which we can see the stars and the moon. I have even placed glow-in-the-dark stars on the ceiling in the shape of the constellations that we can see from our back yard.

When the day’s stresses are over and we need a rest break from life’s daily grind, we often retire to our bedroom, put on some sounds of nature music, turn up the fireplace, turn off the lights, and snuggle into polar fleece sheets – and rest.

Our home, especially our bedroom, has become a special sanctuary, refuge and hiding-place for my hubby and me.

Although the word “sanctuary” was originally used to define a holy or sacred place it can also be used to defined a place of refuge and protection. Aside from my home and my bedroom, being in my husband’s loving arms also leaves me feeling like I am in a sanctuary. In his arms, I feel safe, protected and loved.

God, our Heavenly Father, wants to be our sanctuary and our refuge. He wants to be the one we turn to when we need shelter, safety and protection.

David, who was pursued, hunted, and often in peril of his life, wrote a number of times that he felt and believed that God was his “strong tower” – a sanctuary and refuge when he was in trouble or danger.

Psa 59:16 But I will sing of Your power; yes, I will sing aloud of Your mercy in the morning; for You have been my strong tower and hiding-place in the day of my trouble.

Psa 62:5 My soul, be silent only to God; for my hope is from Him.
Psa 62:6 He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my strong tower; I shall not be shaken.
Psa 62:7 In God is my salvation and my glory; the rock of my strength; my hiding-place is in God.

2Sa_22:3 The God who is my Rock, in Him will I trust. He is my Shield, and the Horn of my salvation, my High Tower, and my Refuge, my Savior. 

Pro_18:10 The name of Jehovah is a strong tower; the righteous man runs into it and is safe.

Deu_33:27 The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms.

Psa 36:7 How precious is Your loving-kindness, O God! And the sons of men take refuge under the shadow of Your wing.

Psa 46:1  God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.

When you are weary and need rest, when you need shelter from life’s storms, when you need protection from the attacks of the enemy, when you need peace in your heart and mind, and when you need to feel loving arms wrapped around you – turn to God – your Heavenly Father, who loves you.

My prayer for you is that you will be able to say that Jehovah is your refuge and your fortress; your God; in Him will you trust. (Ps. 91:2)

Blessings

Leave a Reply

