Taking a Walk

I am going through a bit of a rough patch in life. Challenges with health, finances and family concerns can sometimes feel a bit overwhelming.

The other day I was aching, tired, frustrated, anxious and a little depressed. I couldn’t concentrate on anything so I decided to go for a walk – well, it was more of a slow stroll actually.

As I strolled, the thoughts were spinning around in my head and no answers were becoming apparent. I realized that I wasn’t accomplishing anything on my own, except for increasing my anxiety level, so I decided to walk and talk with my Heavenly Father instead. I poured out my concerns and frustrations. He already knew what they were, but He waits for us to come to Him with our cares. In fact, God, through His son Jesus Christ, invites us to do just that.

Mat 11:28 Come to Me all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

Luk 11:9 And I say to you, Ask and it shall be given you. Seek and you shall find. Knock and it shall be opened to you.

Heb 4:15,16 For we do not have a high priest who cannot be touched with the feelings of our infirmities, but was in all points tempted just as we are, yet without sin. Therefore let us come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

As I walked and talked with God, pouring out my heart to Him, I also began to thank Him for the many blessings that He has given me.

Php 4:6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God.

By the end of my walk, I did not feel like I had received any answers to my concerns, but my headache was gone and I felt relaxed and much more at peace.

Php 4:7 And the peace of God which passes all understanding shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

The next time you are feeling overwhelmed by life’s difficulties, try taking a walk and talking with God.

“And He walks with me

And He talks with me.

And He tells me I am His own.

And the joy we share,

As we tarry there,

None other, has ever know”

C Austin Miles

Blessings

3 thoughts on “Taking a Walk

  1. Dylan Raines says:

    The simplicity of walking is often on of the most healing and beneficial things we can do, although we seem to overlook it so much today. It also seems to invite God to speak to us with a different clarity. Great post and blessings on your journey!

    Like

    • Thanks Dylan 🙂 Being outside in nature is where I feel closest to God and walking slowly while enjoying the scent of the air, the sound of the breeze in the trees, the warmth of the sun on my face and the sounds of the birds helps me to realize how many blessings I do have and it always opens up a dialogue with my Heavenly Father.

      Like

  2. Kathy Mildebrath says:

    Thanks for this, Shari. I too feel closest to God when I am walking outdoors and breathing in the fresh air, along the city streets, or by the water, on a trail, amongst nature, I feel free, less distracted, more energized and have more clarity and focus to solve life’s problems with the Lord by my side, guiding and directing me. He is with us always, he is always good, and his love never fails. Thinking of you and sending abundant rich blessings your way, my friend

    Like

Leave a Reply

