Those Old Emotions

In the 1980’s, a Canadian band called, The Spoons, had a hit song called, “Those Old Emotions”:

And you know you that your there once more
In some forgotten story
From your living library
Of things that you remember
There it goes again
Those old emotions
And it brings back, and it brings back
Those old emotions

This past week, I was transported back to my living library to a story that I had hoped to have long forgotten, and to all the negative emotions that had accompanied it.

I have done my very best to forgive the person involved in that story. God knows that forgiving that person is the true desire of my heart. I thought that I had done very well in forgiving and burying the hurt of the past. I have a good life now and I am much happier now than I have ever been. Strange then how just a few sentences can send me spiraling down the hole of sorrow, frustration, bitterness and anger once again. It’s not as if I had sat and stewed about it for some time; rather, it was an instantaneous, physical, gut-punch reaction as all those negative emotions came roaring back at me like a huge wave crashing over me.

I was shocked at the force of my emotions and the affect they had on me. I couldn’t sleep as my mind kept whirling around thinking, “not again! I don’t want to have to go through this all over again!” So I did the only thing that I knew to do – I prayed. I was open and honest with God about my thoughts and feelings and I asked Him to take them away – and then I let Him take them.

Oftentimes we ask God to do something with a problem but then we continue to hold on to that problem. I am learning how to ask and then “let go and let God”.

The following morning, I felt much more at peace and was able to think calmly and take some wise steps to deal with the situation.

Along with learning to “let go and let God”, I continue to practice forgiveness. Some day I hope that “practice makes perfect” but until then I continue to remind myself what Jesus had to say about forgiving someone who continues to hurt you:

Mat 18:21 Then Peter came to Him and said, Lord, how often shall my brother sin against me and I forgive him? Until seven times?
Mat 18:22 Jesus said to him, I do not say to you, Until seven times; but, Until seventy times seven.

If you are feeling over-whelmed by “those old emotions”, try the following:

Pray!

Php 4:6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God.

Confess your negative thoughts and feelings to God.

1Jn 1:9 If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

Give your burden to Jesus.

Mat 11:28 Come to Me all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.
Mat 11:29 Take My yoke on you and learn of Me, for I am meek and lowly in heart, and you shall find rest to your souls.

Practice forgiveness.

Mat 18:21 Then Peter came to Him and said, Lord, how often shall my brother sin against me and I forgive him? Until seven times?
Mat 18:22 Jesus said to him, I do not say to you, Until seven times; but, Until seventy times seven.

Mar 11:25 And when you stand praying, if you have anything against anyone, forgive it so that also your Father in Heaven may forgive you your trespasses.

May the peace of God which passes all understanding keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. (Php 4:7) Amen.

Leave a Reply

