CFS & CCM

CFS stands for Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. Mayo Clinic defines CFS as ” … a complicated disorder characterized by extreme fatigue that can’t be explained by any underlying medical condition. The fatigue may worsen with physical or mental activity, but doesn’t improve with rest.” CFS is one of the health issues that I live with and today it is making its presence keenly felt. Just trying to raise my arms above my head to brush my hair leaves me feeling like the Titan Atlas as he tried to carry the Earth upon his back. To say that I feel tired to the Nth degree seems like an understatement today.

I am sure that all of us have felt tired at some point and many of us may even have felt fatigued. Usually this type of tiredness and fatigue will eventually go away with adequate rest. I wish adequate rest was the solution to my fatigue. On top of physical and mental fatigue, many of us can suffer from emotional fatigue. Constant, unrelieved fatigue can lead to depression – and thus the vicious cycle continues.

Aside from physical, mental and emotional fatigue, there can also be spiritual fatigue – a different kind of CFS – Christian Fatigue Syndrome. This can happen when the cares, struggles and worries of this world not only drain you of physical energy but also saps you of spiritual energy. This type of CFS may be more hazardous to our health as it weakens our faith and a weakened faith leads to a loss of hope which causes yet another vicious cycle.

My answer to both types of CFS is CCM – Christ Carries Me. Remember that poem “Footprints in the Sand” by Mary Stevenson? The final line says “It was then that I carried you”. I can’t count the number of times that I have had to rely upon Christ carrying me. Knowing that Jesus carries me through all the fatigue and troubles that come my way gives me hope and that hope enables me to rest through those difficult times. In so many ways, God, through His son, Jesus Christ, proves my hope in Jesus and as my hope is proved, my faith is increased.

When we are tired, whether it be physically, mentally, emotionally or spiritually, Jesus has invited us to come to him, to give him our burdens and take on his rest.

Mat 11:28 Come to Me all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.
Mat 11:29 Take My yoke on you and learn of Me, for I am meek and lowly in heart, and you shall find rest to your souls.
Mat 11:30 For My yoke is easy, and My burden is light.

When I am having one of my “bad” days, as I am today, I just rest in the Lord knowing that, and trusting in, CCM – Christ Carrying Me and I have hope that I shall get through this day and this time of trial. Like David, I can say that my heart rejoices and my flesh rests in hope.

Act 2:25 For David speaks concerning Him, “I foresaw the Lord always before me, because He is at my right hand, that I should not be moved.
Act 2:26 Therefore my heart rejoiced and my tongue was glad; and also My flesh shall rest in hope,
Act 2:27 because You will not leave My soul in Hades, nor will You allow Your holy One to see corruption.
Act 2:28 You revealed to Me the ways of life. You will fill Me with joy with Your countenance.”

Blessings

http://www.footprints-inthe-sand.com/

Leave a Reply

