Father’s Day

Yesterday was Father’s Day. While I love my earthly father, despite his mistakes, he has not had much of a connection with me since I was a teenager. It is difficult to have a close relationship with someone who lives on the other side of the country.

I do have some good memories of him though. I used to have very long hair and I remember sitting on the floor in between my Dad’s legs as he sat on a chair and brushed my hair. My Dad was an avid sportsman and athlete and I am sure he would have loved to have had a boy to share those interests with (there was no such thing as girls’ hockey or football when I was young – just chasing dinosaurs ;P) but  we were a family of three girls. However, I do remember my Dad teaching us how to throw, catch and hit a baseball. (Unfortunately, he didn’t teach me how to duck fast enough so I ended up with a ball to the side of the head – which may explain a few things – ;P) He also taught us how to hold on to and throw a football properly so that it spiraled nicely in the air and how to catch the ball and clench it into your stomach so that you didn’t fumble it. And we learned how to stretch and properly warm up and cool down for track and field events (so that we could run after those dinosaurs!).

I suppose that my Dad was a typical father for the times – not overly involved in the rearing of his children. And I guess he did not have a good example of fatherhood, from which to learn, from his own father. During my childhood, I don’t have any bad memories of my father, but I can’t say that he really had any positive impact in my life either. However, his leaving our family when I was a young teenager has had an untold negative effect on my life, even to this day. Yet I still love him and miss him.

In the wisdom of my ‘advanced years’ (lol) I have come to understand the damage that can occur to someone when they do not have a proper father figure in their life. Blessedly, I have also come to know and understand that I have a Heavenly Father who loves me more than any earthly father could.

Joh 3:16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only-begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

My Heavenly Father loved me even when I was an imperfect sinner.

Eph 2:4,5 But God, who is rich in mercy, for His great love with which He loved us (even when we were dead in sins) has made us alive together with Christ (by grace you are saved), …

My Heavenly Father loves me and has adopted me as His own dear child.

Eph 1:5  [God] having predestined us to the adoption of children by Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the good pleasure of His will,…

My Heavenly Father has given me an inheritance more valuable than earthly riches.

Eph 1:11 in whom [Jesus] also we have been chosen to an inheritance, …

1Pe 1:3, 4 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who according to His great mercy has regenerated us again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance incorruptible and undefiled, and unfading, reserved in Heaven for you …

My earthly father was not around to provide for my physical needs but my Heavenly Father can always be counted upon to provide for not only my physical needs, but my mental and spiritual ones as well.

Mat 6:31, 32 Therefore do not be anxious, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, With what shall we be clothed? For the nations seek after all these things. For your heavenly Father knows that you have need of all these things.

Php 4:19 But my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus. 

My earthly father left and moved to the other side of the country and in over 30 years I have probably only seen him about a dozen times. But, although I can not physical see or feel Him, I know that my Heavenly Father is always close by and that He is more than willing and able to be involved in my life.

Heb 13:5 … for He has said, “Not at all will I leave you, not at all will I forsake you, never!”

I also have the great comfort of knowing that, since I am God’s child, nothing can ever separate me from the love that my Heavenly Father has for me through Jesus Christ.

Rom 8:35 Who [or what] shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?

Rom 8:38, 39 For I am persuaded that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Maybe you have not had the kind of earthly father in your life that can be celebrated on Father’s Day. However, you can have a Heavenly Father who will love you every day, no matter what, and who will be there to comfort, support, encourage, strengthen and guide you in and through all of life’s challenges. He is waiting for you to call upon Him.

Rom 10:13 For everyone, “whoever shall call on the name of the Lord will be saved.”

God is waiting to be your ‘ABBA’.

Rom 8:14, 15 For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God. For you have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption by which we cry, Abba, Father!

Blessings

P.S.:  A book that helped me to better understand God as ‘Father’ was the following: James Robison’s book, Knowing God as Father, will touch your life as you discover what a wonderful, loving Father you have in God. James tells of the joy and peace in his life as a child of God and leads you into a relationship of your own with the best Father ever.

 

(I have received no payment to endorse the above book – it was just helpful to me)

Leave a Reply

