The Best Thing

This weekend marks the fifth anniversary of my first date with my husband. I drove across the province for eight hours, half of that through completely new territory for me. In many ways, it was like a blind date because while we had been communicating with one another for nine months, we had never before been together.

All the way across the province is a looonnnggg way to go for a date! Talk about nervous! If the date didn’t work out – you couldn’t just leave and go home.

Thankfully, we ‘got along like a house on fire’ from the first moment and a little over a year later, we got married. We are still ‘getting along like a house on fire’.

My husband is a wonderful man and I thank God every day for bringing us together. I would love to say that my hubby is “The Best Thing” that ever happened to me, but that wouldn’t be the truth. At least, it wouldn’t be the most accurate truth. In the worldly scheme of things, my hubby IS  “The Best Thing” that every happened to me. He is my very best friend, my lover, my protector, my provider, my soul-mate. He is the second finest man that I have ever known.

You see, in all truth, my hubby is up against some serious competition for the title of “Best Thing To Have Ever Happened To Me”. For in as much as my husband loves me and I love him, I have to confess that “The Best Thing” that ever happened to me was my salvation through faith in Jesus Christ. God, through His son Jesus, showed me what REAL love is. God is my ultimate protector and provider. Jesus is my true very best friend and the only man whom I have known that is finer than my husband.

I drove eight hours across a province to find my earthly “The Best Thing” but Jesus crossed the boundary from life unto death to give me an eternal “The Best Thing”.

I am so eternally grateful to God that I get to enjoy, not just one, but two of “The Best Things In Life” – my salvation and my husband!

I pray that you too will know “The Best Thing”  – Salvation through faith in Jesus Christ.

Blessings

Rom 8:38,39 For I am persuaded that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Leave a Reply

