Home Sweet Home

When I was a child, my mom read many stories to us. One of my favourites was called “Home for a Bunny” by Margaret Wise Brown, with beautiful colour illustrations by Garth Williams. It is the story of a cute little bunny who is looking for a home – a home of his own. I loved that book so much that I kept it to read to my own children. I still have that book and I can’t wait to read it to my grand-daughter.

My hubby and I have been married for 3 1/2 years. We both have had to start all over again from scratch. When we first started our life together, we rented a quaint old log cabin. We loved it, but it was tiny and it was attached to the landlord’s home and filled with their furniture and “stuff”. It never felt like it was truly our home and we never felt like we had much privacy (which is important when you are newlyweds! lol)

Although we really wanted to buy a home of our own, our personal situations were still somewhat unsettled so we finally settled on renting an apartment in town – on the third floor with no elevator! (puff-pant). I have worked hard to make our apartment look nice and feel like a home ( I love designing and decorating).

But even with all our personal touches, it still doesn’t feel like it’s “ours”. Our landlord has a long list of things that we can’t do – can’t paint, can’t burn candles, can’t have pets etc. Living on the third floor, I don’t have a garden (in which I love to putter) and we miss watching the birds and squirrels coming to the feeders.

For the past two years, we have been looking to buy a home – a home of our own, just like the bunny in the story. And just like the bunny experienced in his story, every time he thought that he had found a home, something happened to disappoint him and he had to start his search all over again – well, that was our story too. To say that it has been frustrating and disheartening would be an understatement!

But recently, just when we were about to give up the idea entirely, I believe that God sent me a couple of messages to inspire and encourage me. With renewed hope and faith, we persevered and finally we can give God all thanks, praise and glory because WE FINALLY HAVE A FOUND A HOME OF OUR OWN!!!!

We take possession of our ‘wee hoosie’ in March and we are sooooooo excited! I feel like the Cheshire Cat (from Alice in Wonderland), who had a huge grin from ear to ear! We can’t wait until we can sit on our patio, sip our tea and watch the birdies and the squirrels come to the feeders. It will be WONDERFUL  to not have someone else telling us what we can and can’t do in our -finally- OWN home! Ah bliss!

My apartment is not the only place wherein I do not feel ‘at home’. I often feel like I am a stranger in this world. I am uncomfortable with ‘popular culture’ and ‘political correctness’.

2Co 5:6 Then being always confident, knowing that while we are at home in the body, we are away from home from the Lord;

I am not a sheep in the flock of this world. Not willing to blindly follow what is considered popular, trendy, cool, in-style, or culturally acceptable.

1Pe 2:25 For you were as sheep going astray,…

Don’t get me wrong – I am not some prissy, stiff-necked, boring, old-fashioned, stick-in-the-mud Christian. I can actually be pretty wild and crazy at times. Just ask my hubby, who has rolled his eyes at my actions on one or two occasions (ok – maybe more). But – BIG BUT – I try hard to please God by ensuring that my words and deeds, however crazy or silly they may be, are within the guidelines that He has set out for us in His Word.

Col 3:17 And everything, whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus,…

Trying to live a Godly life in this world often leaves me feeling like I am a fish swimming upstream against the current or a wildebeast trying to walk the other way during the herd’s migration. I feel like one of Dr. Suess’ Sneetches who does not have “a star upon thars” and thus does not fit in with the ‘popular’ crowd.

I don’t like all the crudeness, sex, violence and disrespect that are the main themes of tv, movies, music and video games these days. I dislike the selfishness, greed, self-absorption and thoughtlessness which seem to be the guiding forces of our materialistic society. Irresponsibility and stupidity have become the hallmarks of our day.

I can understand why people withdraw from society to become hermits! The reality is that we live in a wicked world.

As a Christian, my reality is that I live in this sin-tainted world. But, while I may be in this world, I am not of this world. When I accepted Jesus as my Saviour, I became a member of the Kingdom of God and Jesus said that His kingdom is not of this world.

Joh 18:36 Jesus answered, My kingdom is not of this world.

So it is not surprising that I don’t feel at home in this world. In fact, the ways of this world are hostile towards Christians.

Joh 15:19 If you were of the world, the world would love its own. But because you are not of the world, but I have chosen you out of the world, therefore the world hates you.

Even though I am not ‘at home’ in this world, I still have an important job to do while I am here and that is to further the Kingdom of God here on earth.

2Co 5:9 Therefore we are also laboring to be well-pleasing to Him, whether at home or away from home.

In the mean time, I wait in hope, like Abraham, for the time when Jesus comes again and I shall be ‘gathered’ together with the other saints in light and Jesus takes me to my true home.

Heb 11:8-10 By faith Abraham obeyed when he was called to go out into a place which he was afterward going to receive for an inheritance. And he went out, not knowing where he went. By faith he lived in the land of promise as a stranger, dwelling in tents with Isaac and Jacob, the heirs of the same promise with him. For he looked for a city which has foundations, whose builder and maker is God.

Heb 11:13-16 These all died by way of faith, not having received the promises, but having seen them afar off. And they were persuaded of them and embraced them and confessed that they were strangers and pilgrims on the earth. For they who say such things declare plainly that they seek a fatherland.  And truly, if they had been mindful of that country from which they came out, they might have had opportunity to have returned. But now they stretch forth to a better fatherland, that is, a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for He has prepared a city for them.

Mar 13:26,27 And then they will see the Son of Man coming in the clouds with great power and glory.  And then He shall send His angels and shall gather His elect from the four winds, from the end of the earth to the end of heaven.

HOME SWEET HOME!

Leave a Reply

