A Family Affair

Well, another Christmas season has come and gone. I hope that yours was filled with love, hope, peace and joy.

My Christmas was somewhat bittersweet. My hubby and I spent Christmas Eve in a nice hotel room complete with large whirlpool tub. Christmas Day was spent with my lovely sister-in-law and her husband. We enjoyed spending a relaxing day in new Christmas pj’s. We even ate Christmas dinner wearing our pj’s and silly Santa hats! After dinner, my hubby and I strolled along the waterfront enjoying the beautiful light display (and we were still wearing our pj’s and I wore my Santa hat complete with white braids – lol).

After a filling Boxing Day brunch, we packed our things and drove home and spent the rest of the day by ourselves. My step-children were up for a visit for a couple of days which was a blessing for my hubby but which left me really missing my own children. In fact, spending time with various members of my husband’s family really brought home to me how far apart my own family is – not only physically but emotionally and spiritually as well.

Physically, my mother and youngest son live 8 hours away from me in separate directions. My eldest son and my new grand-daughter live about 1/2 that distance away but were both very ill over the holidays. My two younger sisters live 5 and 6 hours away and my father lives on the other side of the country.

Other than my eldest son and my mom, we are not a close family. I don’t know why. To my mother and I, our family is the most important thing in our lives, next to our relationship with God. Family is especially important to me and my Mom because our family became splintered and separated when my dad left. My two younger sisters had to go live with him across the country!

Although my sisters eventually returned, our relationship was never the same – never as close as it was before they left. It seems that we still bare the scars of that separation. My sisters do not call, email or write me, my Mom or one another. Christmas was bereft of any communication of any kind.

My Mom and I have tried everything in our power to heal the breach. We love them. We miss them. It hurts.

For me, Christmas has always been about family. Now, some might say to me that it is not about family but about the birth of Jesus. Well, to me, the birth of Jesus is all about family. We lost our connection to our Heavenly Father when Adam and Eve sinned. God put into place a plan to bring us back into a family relationship with Him. That plan began with the birth of His son, Jesus.

God loves us.

Joh 3:16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only-begotten Son…

Rom 5:8 But God has made clear his love to us, in that, when we were still sinners, Christ gave his life for us. (BBE)

God misses us and He wants us to be His children. He wants us to be a family again.

2Co 6:18 … I will be a Father to you, and you shall be My sons and daughters, says the Lord Almighty.

God loves us so much and misses us so much, that He gave to us His most cherished son, Jesus, so that we might be able to become His cherished sons and daughters too. Our Heavenly Father wants us to be a family again.

Joh 3:16 For God had such love for the world that he gave his only Son, so that whoever has faith in him may not come to destruction but have eternal life. (BBE)

Luk 2:10, 11 And the angel said to them, Do not fear. For behold, I give to you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For to you is born today, in the city of David, a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.

Christmas = Love = Family of God

I pray that you accept God’s gift of eternal life through faith in Jesus Christ so that we may share the same Heavenly Father and call one another ‘sister’ and ‘brother’.

Blessings

P.S.: After I began writing this post, God gave me two wonderful gifts – my father called for a chat (can’t remember the last time we spoke to one another) and one of my sister’s sent me a lovely, newsie email! GOD IS GOOD!

Leave a Reply

