Shades of Grey

I am a person of colour. By that, I don’t mean that I am black, red, or yellow skinned. I am actually a pale sallow colour which means that I am either a white, yellow person or a yellow, white person. Either way, I absolutely can not wear olive green without looking like I am suffering from a severe case of sea-sickness.

I call myself a person of colour because I love colour. Green is my favourite colour (except olive, of course). I think it is my favourite because it is fresh, cool, relaxing and refreshing – like walking through the woods on an early summer’s day. I also love red which I find passionate, envigorating, and cheerful. (Like me! LOL)

There is one colour that I absolutely hate with a capital “H” and that is grey! Grey is a colour that is not a colour because it is neither here nor there – it’s wishy-washy. Grey is the colour of my least favourite month “POOvember”. Grey is dull, dismal, depressing, lackluster and lifeless.

In case you think that I am colour prejudiced and misinformed, I include some information from Wikipedia that I found while doing research on the colour grey:

Grey or gray  is an intermediate color between black and white. It is a neutral or achromatic color, meaning literally that it is a color “without color.”

In Europe and the United States, surveys show that grey is the color most commonly associated with conformity, boredom, uncertainty, old age, indifference, and modesty. Only one percent of respondents chose it as their favorite color.

In antiquity and the Middle Ages, grey was the color of undyed wool, and thus was the color most commonly worn by peasants and the poor. 

In the Christian religion, grey is the color of ashes, and so a biblical symbol of mourning and repentance.

Grey is rarely used as a color by political parties, largely because of its common association with conformity, boredom and indecision.

In ethics, grey is either used pejoratively to describe situations that have no clear moral value; “the grey area”, or positively to balance an all-black or all-white view; for example, shades of grey represent magnitudes of good and bad.

In folklore, grey is often associated with goblins, elves and other legendary mischievous creatures

In an article in the Huffington Post, “10 Ways Color Affects Your Mood” written by Vanessa Van Edwards, she states, “Grey inspires people to be passive, uninvolved and have a lack of energy.”

The website “empower-yourself-with-color-psychology.com” describes grey as: the color of detachment, indecision and compromise; an unemotional color; detached, neutral, impartial, and indecisive. It does not stimulate, energize, rejuvenate, or excite. 

See – I am not the only one who feels as I do about grey!

Unfortunately, I think that there are a lot of so-called Christians out there that I would describe as being “grey”; Christians whose spiritual life is boring, indecisive, uncertain, unemotional and indifferent. Just as Van Edwards describes the colour grey, there are a lot of Christians who are “passive, uninvolved and have a lack of energy.”

Grey “Christianity” is detached from the cares and needs of others. Grey “Christianity” is unmoved by the sorrow and burdens of this world. Grey “Christianity” is willing to compromise God’s Truth in order to be politically and socially acceptable. Grey “Christianity” is weak in faith and indecisive – blown about by “every wind of doctrine”. Grey “Christianity” does not stimulate, energize, rejuvinate or excite – it brings death, not life.

Grey “Christianity” is not Christianity at all! Christianity refers to the state of following Christ. Jesus Christ was anything but grey! Anybody who truly follows the way of Christ can never be grey!

God is pretty clear in His Word about how He views “Grey Christianity”. While He does not use the word “colour” or “grey” in the following scriptures, He does use temperature to convey the same meaning:

Rev 3:14 `And to the messenger of the assembly of the Laodiceans write: These things saith the Amen, the witness–the faithful and true–the chief of the creation of God;
Rev 3:15 I have known thy works, that neither cold art thou nor hot; I would thou wert cold or hot.
Rev 3:16 So–because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I am about to vomit thee out of my mouth;
Rev 3:17 because thou sayest–I am rich, and have grown rich, and have need of nothing, and hast not known that thou art the wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked, (YLT)

Wow! God describes “lukewarm” (I say ‘grey’) “Christians” as, ” wretched, miserable, poor, blind and naked“!! Not how I want Him to describe me!

Not only that, God finds that type of person so distasteful, that He wants to vomit!! “Grey Christianity” leaves a real bad taste in God’s mouth!

My white-yellow or yellow-white skin may make me look a bit “peaked” at times, but I’ll take my skin colour over being a “pukey” Grey Christian any day!

I pray that your faith life is rich, full, and vibrant, just like a big bag of Skittles candies – come on and-  “taste the rainbow”.

BlessingsIMG_7869 (688x800)

Leave a Reply

