Poopie Diapers

I have changed a lot of poopie diapers in my life (other people’s, not mine). I started when I was about 14 years old and I took on babysitting jobs. At that time, a lot of people still used cloth diapers on their babies. Cloth diapers meant safety pins – a misnomer if ever there was one! I mean, who decided that trying to push a long,sharp, pointy metal pin through several layers of thick flannel while trying to hold said flannel in place on a squirming baby could possibly involve anything called “safety”? In desparately trying not to poke the writhing child, one often stabbed one’s own fingers with the aforementioned “safety pin”! My worst experience was when an exceptionally squirmy and determined child gave a great heave -ho at the worst possible moment and I ended up stabbing the poor child with the questionable “safety pin”. I still shudder at the memory!

Later on in life, I worked as a nurse, mainly in Chronic Care facilities. Thankfully, by that time, some clever person had invented disposable diapers for adults, ones that used adhesive tabs to secure the diapers rather than pins. Unfortunately, these institutions soon decided that disposable diapers were too hard on the profit margin (not to mention landfill sites) so I once again had to use cloth diapers – but at least they employed velcro fasterners or snaps rather than pins.

At the same time, I began having my own children. Since finances were tight at the time, I opted to use cloth diapers for my babies. I challenge you to try to snugly wrap a 5 pound infant in yards of flannel! My son looked liked Ghandi during his hunger strike! My husband was either cowardly or wise, but he absolutely refused to have anything to do with the cloth diapers so we always had to have a package of disposable ones on hand, just for him.

Whether it was diapering someone else’s child, my own children, or an infirm adult, the common denominators were that they usually could not control their bowels and most importantly, none of them wanted to stay in those poopie diapers. Aside from the awful smell, the skin on their tender tushies would react negatively by developing angry red rashes and even open sores.

I am sure that whether you admit to it or not, there has been at least one time in your adult life when you have  had an “oops” accident in your drawers. You know, such as the time when that little, innocuous fart ended up having wet substance to it rather than just being dry air?? However your little embarassing “oops” happened, you immediately did whatever was necessary to extricate yourself from that unpleasant and uncomfortable situation – right? I mean, nobody in their right mind would choose to remain wearing poopie diapers! Would they?

So I find it both baffling and frustrating when people find themselves in crappy situations yet they seem to do nothing to help themselves get out of those same situations! I have a tender heart, and I don’t like to see people suffering. It is my heart’s desire to help people whenever, wherever, and however I can. In the past, I have absolutely worn myself out physically, mentally and spiritually trying to help some people get out of those crappy situations. These people would seek my council, admit to seeing the wisdom of my advice (which was based on seeking God’s wisdom for that situation), thank me profusely for my help, and then they would continue to choose to remain in their crappy situations! ARRGH! I just don’t get it!

I completely understand that we are flawed humans who are prone to making mistakes. I understand that often we find ourselves in crappy situations because of choices that someone else has made but which have had serious repercussions upon us. And I even understand that our lack of understanding and/or wisdom can lead us into unpleasant circumstances. But when a way out of those crappy situations –  those “poopie diapers” –  has been provided, I believe that we have a personal responsibility to take whatever steps are needed to get ourselves out of those proverbial stinky diapers.

God and His son, Jesus, have merciful, tender, compassionate, understanding and loving hearts.

Rom 9:15 For He said to Moses, “I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.”

Eph 2:4 But God, who is rich in mercy, for His great love with which He loved us …

God wants us to be happy, healthy and prosperous in all good things. He wants us to have an abundant life full of His blessings through Jesus Christ.

Joh 10:10 The thief does not come except to steal and to kill and to destroy. I have come so that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.

When we get into bad or “crappy” situations, God is ready, willing, able able to help us get out of them.

Psa 46:1  God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.

We just need to ask Him for help.

Mat 7:7 Ask and it shall be given to you; seek and you shall find; knock and it shall be opened to you.

God is more than ready and willing to do His part and help us but we must also be willing to do our own part in stepping out of those poopie diapers by taking and acting upon the direction and advice God gives to us. God provides the wet wipes and the clean undies – we need to use them.

Read the following passages of scripture:

Joh 5:2 Now there is a pool at the Sheep Gate at Jerusalem, which is called in Hebrew Bethesda, having five porches.

Joh 5:5 And a certain man was there, who had an infirmity thirty-eight years.
Joh 5:6 When Jesus saw him lying, and knowing that he had spent much time, He said to him, Do you desire to be made whole?
Joh 5:7 The infirm man answered Him, Sir, when the water is troubled, I have no one to put me into the pool. But while I am coming, another steps down before me.
Joh 5:8 Jesus says to him, Rise, take up your bed and walk.
Joh 5:9 And immediately the man was made whole and took up his bed and walked. And it was a sabbath on that day.

The man in question was in a bad way – because of his infirmity, he may in fact have suffered the indiginity of soiling his undergarments. Jesus saw the man’s need and asked him what he wanted. The man told him his problem. Jesus told the man what he needed to do in order to get out of that bad situation – out of those “poopie diapers”. And what did the man do? He rose, took up his bed and walked right on out of that bad situation! In order for that man to get out of that bad situation, he had to actively take part – he had to take action in order to leave that situation behind.

When we find ourselves in crappy situations, we need to seek out God and then we need to act upon the wisdom and deliverance He gives. We need to “rise” and “walk” right on out of those poopie diapers!

Funny story: when my uncle was visitng from England, he told us a story about the time that he was waiting at a bus stop. There was a lady waiting in line, who was wearing a skirt and who had both her arms full of grocery bags. As she moved forward to get on the bus, the elastic in her knickers (undies to us) let go and the knickers fell down around her ankles. How terribly embarassing! What could she do?? Well, my uncle said that she just looked straight ahead, stepped right on out of those faulty knickers and climbed up into the bus! I think that there may be a lesson to us in that story.

Praying that your elastic waistbands never let go and that you never find yourself sitting in poopie diapers.

Blessings

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

