As He Sees Me

When I look in the mirror, I am not really enamoured by what I see. There are sunspots on my face and my hubby has told me that I have enough brown spots on my back to create a new constellation. I really need to lose at least 20 lbs. and while my hubby says that I have an hour glass figure, I think that it looks more like a great big capital letter “H”. There are lumps and bumps where lumps and bumps have no business being. And various body parts are moving south, and I don’t mean Florida!

I sometimes feel like life has played a trick on me. When I was younger, I never felt particularly good about my looks, but now, when I look at past photos of myself, I think “Hey – I wasn’t all that bad lookin'”. I think that my past life was so filled with stress, that I never really got the chance to enjoy the fact that I was young, healthy, slim, and reasonably pleasant looking.

My life is soooooooo much better now and my inner being feels young and fun-loving. But when I look in the mirror, a stranger is looking back at me and I say to my reflection, “who are you and what have you done with my body???”.

I think that any middle-aged person who says that they are “aging gracefully” hasn’t had a good long look in a full-length mirror recently. Either that, or they have a magic mirror and I want to get me one of those!

However, in spite of all my insecurities, my wonderful hubby is always telling me that he thinks that I am beautiful, sexy and desirable. (TMI??) He insists that I have a wonderful hour-glass figure, that I have great legs, beautiful eyes and smile –  and hardly any wrinkles! I don’t understand it, but he thinks that I am BEAUTIFUL.

Because of hurtful things that were said and done to me by people in my past, I have had to work very hard at believing that my husband believes that what he tells me is true. I have slowly come to realize that he really means it when he tells me that he thinks that I am beautiful. He has told me that he sees me through the eyes of love. The love that he has for me filters out any visual “imperfections” that I may have. And because he freely showers me with his love, I in turn am able to reflect that love back to him. This outpouring of love flows over and completely covers one another so that the brown spots, lumps, bumps and jiggly bits get covered over – better than any mud bath, bleaching, exfoliating, or liposuction could ever do!

When you really love someone, your love should see past all the surface imperfections, and focus on the true inner being.

I am very blessed to have a husband who sees me this way. Even more importantly, I have a Heavenly Father who sees me this way. God sees me through His eyes of love. He knows that in this world, my life will have spots, lumps and bumps. He knows that not everything that I will say or do will be “beautiful”. But with His eyes of love, He looks through my flawed outer self and sees into the heart of the real me. The real me that is His precious daughter through the blood of Christ.

God, who is love, sees me through His son, Jesus Christ, who loved me and died for me. By acknowledging and accepting what Jesus did for me, I am clothed in that love. God sees me through the filter of that love. God sees me as beautiful.

Rom 1:7 to all those who are in Rome, beloved of God, called to be saints.

Rom 9:25 As He also says in Hosea, “I will call those not My people, My people; and those not beloved, Beloved.”

Rom 10:15 … As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the gospel of peace and bring glad tidings of good things!”

I can not always see what beauty my husband sees in me, and I have not always been able to believe that God thinks that I am beautiful. But just as I have had to learn to trust and believe in what my husband tells me, so too have I had to learn to trust and believe in what my Heavenly Father has said. I do this by reading His Word and by spending time with Him in prayer. And slowly, I am beginning to see myself “As He Sees Me”.

I pray that you are clothed with the love of God and Christ and that you begin to see yourself through their eyes of love -to see  that you are beautiful!

Blessings

 

Leave a Reply

