Dog-tired

Dog-tired, bone-weary, bushed, sapped, outta gas, all in – any and all of these terms would describe how I feel this afternoon. One of the health issues I battle is Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. The Center for Disease Control and Prevention defines Chronic fatigue syndrome, or CFS, as “a debilitating and complex disorder characterized by profound fatigue that is not improved by bed rest and that may be worsened by physical or mental activity. Symptoms affect several body systems and may include weakness, muscle pain, impaired memory and/or mental concentration, and insomnia, which can result in reduced participation in daily activities.” Yup – that just about covers it.

Sometimes it creeps up on me slowly, while at other times, it jumps on me suddenly. It is frustrating as sometimes I can pinpoint a trigger but at other times, it seems to have come out of nowhere. It can definitely make daily life a challenge. Sometimes, I just have to keep on slogging and push through it. At other times, I have to wave the white flag, call a truce, and go into “veg” mode and become a couch potato.

During my couch potato times, I am very blessed to have a husband who is understanding and compassionate. But even better than that, I have a merciful and gracious Heavenly Father that I can turn to for help.

Isa 40:28-31 Have you not known? Have you not heard, that the everlasting God, Jehovah, the Creator of the ends of the earth, does not grow weak nor weary? He gives power to the weary; and to him with no vigor; He increases strength. Even the young shall faint and be weary, and the young men shall utterly fall; but those who wait on Jehovah shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

I also have a  Saviour, Jesus Christ, who knows only too well what it is like to be bone-weary.

Heb 4:15 For we do not have a high priest who cannot be touched with the feelings of our infirmities, but was in all points tempted just as we are, yet without sin.

Jesus has compassion for those who are weary in body, mind and spirit.

Mat 9:36 But seeing the crowds, He was moved with compassion on them, because they were tired and scattered like sheep having no shepherd.

Jesus spreads his arms of love and invites us to enter into his rest.

Mat 11:28,29 Come to Me all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke on you and learn of Me, for I am meek and lowly in heart, and you shall find rest to your souls.

Heb 4:9 So then there remains a rest to the people of God.

Heb 4:11 Therefore let us labor to enter into that rest.

I am entering into that rest now. Just call me Mrs. Potato Couch Head. ZZZZzzzz

 

Leave a Reply

