Me Mother

Today is Mother’s Day here in Canada so I would like to take this opportunity to honour me own dear mother, who is one of my heroes.

If I have gotten my story straight, my mother was born in England, under a table, during a bombing raid in WWII. The circumstances of her birth seem to have become an analogy for her life. She has had to survive one battle after another all her life. I think that most people, if having had to endure all that she has, would either be dead or suffering substances abuse. At the very least, they would be miserable, negative, pessimistic, angry and bitter.

It would have been so easy for her to give up and give in to those dark feelings, and she has struggled with them, but she chose to fight on through the darkness. She is one of the bravest people I know. She chooses to hold on and then rise above her situations. And while she is fighting her own battles, she still takes the time and puts in the effort to be kind and helpful to others.

If anyone should have a reason to be angry with God and to turn away from Him, it would be my Mom. BUT – my Mom continues to honour and praise God. She NEVER blames God for the bad things that have happened to her. She is well aware of who is her enemy. She continues to give thanksgiving for all that God has done in her life. She knows that she would probably not be alive if it wasn’t for His grace and mercy. She is joyful in the hope of the resurrection in Christ Jesus.

My Mom is my sister-in-Christ and my prayer partner. She encourages me and prays for me during my own struggles. She has been a light in my darkness. I know that she has also been a shining light of truth and love to many other people.I think that she is truly a minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ.

I know that she is not perfect, and we have had our differences, but I honour, respect and esteem her. And of course, I love her to pieces!

Thanks Mom, for all that you are and all that you do. You are my BFF. (Best Friend Forever) (along with my hubby of course)

 

One thought on “Me Mother

Leave a Reply

