On Aging Gracefully

Recently, my hubby congratulated me on reaching the 20th anniversary of my 32nd birthday. His comment made me laugh. But is also made me think – wow – 20 years has gone by since I turned 32! It immediately made me think about how fast time flies and how quickly I am aging. This felt a little on the negative side of things. But then I thought about how it is something of a miracle that I have even  reached this age.

You see, there have been a number of times in my life where I just didn’t think that I could survive another day. Depression, anxiety, fear, loneliness, hopelessness, helplessness and despair are heavy burdens that drain you and wear you down to the point where you can’t see your way out. And if you do manage to hold on, there always seems to be another wave to knock you over and pull you under.

For me, if I wasn’t battling mental health issues, I was battling physical health issues: Chronic pain, fatigue, and then cancer. There have been many times when I have asked “Why?”. But I know why – we live in a sin-tainted, corrupted world which is “patrolled” by an enemy – “the prince of this world”.

Joh 14:30 Hereafter I will not talk much with you: for the prince of this world cometh, and hath nothing in me.

Eph 2:2 Wherein in time past ye walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that now worketh in the children of disobedience:

And this enemy is out to destroy all that God has created.

Joh 10:10The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy:

1Pe 5:8 Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:

I have found that knowing that I have an enemy helps me to choose to continue doing battle. I am determined that my enemy will not win – I will not give him the satisfaction or the victory. I “shake the dust off my sandals” right in his face and accompany it with a great big “raspberry”  – pppthththt!

I am also greatly comforted by the fact that I have God and Jesus on my side and they are a winning team.

Php 4:13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

1Jn 4:4 You are of God, little children, and you have overcome them, because He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world.

And so, even though I am not particularly crazy about the aging process, I am so grateful for God’s grace and mercy and for each day that is a victory in which I am able to love my family and share the Good News of the gospel of Jesus Christ.

To me, that is what aging “gracefully” is all about.

1Pe 5:7 Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.

1Pe 5:8 Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:

1Pe 5:9 Whom resist stedfast in the faith, knowing that the same afflictions are accomplished in your brethren that are in the world.

1Pe 5:10 But the God of all grace, who hath called us unto his eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after that ye have suffered a while, make you perfect, stablish, strengthen, settle you.

1Pe 5:11 To him be glory and dominion for ever and ever. Amen.

 

Blessings

5 thoughts on “On Aging Gracefully

  1. Eleanor says:

    There is nothing graceful about aging except in the process of joint deterioration, and realizing you are mortal you also realize there are great things in this world and in your life that are well worth aging and slowing down to enjoy. Faith, Family and the freedom of Religions are three of the most important things we have to help keep us healthy and hopeful.
    This is a great blog Shari.
    Keep it up!

    Like

    • Thanks for the compliment and encouragement Eleanor! And I agree, we need to slow down and take the time to appreciate every little blessing that comes our way. And often, wisdom and character development only come with age. Blessings to your joints 🙂

      Like

  2. Lois Roelofs says:

    Know that God is always watching! A comfort to me every day as I have chronic pain also. Blessings on your birthday! I’m 20 more than you yet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

