Daddy Daddy!

Yesterday was a lovely spring day and after a walk around town and an hour spent reading in the park, I decided to do some Spring cleaning on my balcony. I wrapped a flower garland around the railing and my step-daughter helped me to install some solar hummingbird patio lights. (I miss having an actual garden to putter in – sigh)

While I was working, the neighbour lady across the road arrived home from work and began unpacking her precious cargo from the car – her two lovely little children. As they were standing in the driveway, the mom noticed that her husband was driving his car down the street towards home. She pointed it out to her children and I heard one cry “Daddy”. As Dad parked the car and got out of the vehicle, the kids were jumping up and down in excited joy and calling out, “Daddy, Daddy, Daddy”!

I thought that it was so sweet and it put a smile on my face. What joy that father must have felt when he saw how happy his children were to see him and he heard those simple expressions of love and joy.

It got me to thinking about my Heavenly Father. I think that as Christians, we often feel that we must perform some extravagant act of worship in order to please God. But I don’t think that God is after “pomp and circumstance” at all. I have come to believe that what He wants is a warm, close and personal relationship with us. I don’t think that He is impressed by pageantry, but rather, He enjoys simple expressions of heartfelt gratitude and love.

Unfortunately, I have not been able to enjoy a close and loving relationship with my earthly father, but as I have grown in the knowledge and  understanding of God, I have come to enjoy a close and loving relationship with my Heavenly Father. He truly is my “Daddy”.

Rom 8:14 For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God.

Rom 8:15 For you have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption by which we cry, Abba, Father!

 

Leave a Reply

