Good Morning???

In the movie “Singing in the Rain” the actors perform the song “Good Morning”. They have stayed up all night but greet the morning with energy and enthusiasm. Well, in my world, life definitely does not imitate art. Good morning?? I say “HUMBUG”!!!

Maybe you can tell that I am not a morning person? I remember looking through a Sears catalogue and finding a nightgown that had a picture of a very unenthusiastic Daisy Duck-like character, hair in curlers, bags under the eyes, cigarette dangling from the mouth and coffee in one hand. Underneath the image were the words, “I don’t do mornings”. Yup, that’s me sans cigarette and coffee!

I once read an article which asked the question, “when you wake up in the morning, are you the kind of person that says, ‘Good morning God’, or do you say, ‘good God, it’s morning’? I confess that I definitely fit into the latter category. I don’t think that I have ever been a morning person. As I grew older, certain health issues negatively affected my sleep quality – no “laying in the arms of sweet Morpheus” for me. My nights are often filled with physical pain and unhappy dreams. For me, mornings mean stiffness, pain, and fatigue. I feel “hung-over” without having had the dubious benefit of partying the night before. When I get up, I am definitely “dragging my a**” around.

So – morning person I am not! However, I also think about a song, “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life”  from Monty Python’s irreverent movie “The Life of Brian”. When I am dragging around in the mornings, I try to think of reasons to say “Good morning God!” First of all, I guess I should be glad that I woke up at all!  I am glad that my unhappy dreams are not my reality. I appreciate that I had a good bed to sleep in, warm blankets to snuggle into (and we have needed them this winter!) and a comfortable couch by an east-facing window to enjoy the rising sun. I enjoy the feeling of my warm cat curled up on my lap and purring as we enjoy the morning sunbeam together. I am blessed with a loving husband who makes me a cup of tea to help me ease into the day.  I am thankful that even though my body aches, I have all my limbs and they function. I am grateful that when my stomach can finally face looking at food, I have a wide selection of healthy food to eat. I am happy to kiss my husband good bye when he leaves for work knowing that God will bring him safely home again. I am grateful that I can look forward to activities which bring purpose and meaning to my life.

Most of all, I am so grateful that I have a Heavenly Father who understands my morning grumpiness. I am thankful for His patience, grace and mercy. And I am so thankful that I have a hope in the resurrected Christ – a hope that means that one day, I will no longer have unhappy dreams or aches and pains. Then, all my days will have good mornings and I can say with a smile, “Good morning God!”

Rev 22:16   I, Jesus, have sent My angel to testify these things to you over the churches. I am the Root and the Offspring of David, the bright and Morning Star.

Rev 21:4   And God will wipe away all tears from their eyes. And there will be no more death, nor mourning, nor crying out, nor will there be any more pain; for the first things passed away.

Blessings

 

Leave a Reply

