It’s A Hard Thing

My Mom is a great gal and I dearly love her. Unfortunately, we live 8 hours away from each other so I only get to see her once or twice a year. I thank God for the internet so that we can keep in touch on a regular basis. However, emailing just doesn’t cut it when a loved one is suffering. I am a “hands on” kind of person, so when she is going through a rough time, I feel so helpless and useless because I can’t be there to give her a gentle hug, make her a cup of tea, take her out for a drive and lunch or even just sit beside her and chat with her.

Recently, I was feeling guilty about the situation but my Mom sent me an encouraging message which she entitled “An Ever Present Help”. In the message, she told me that I do, in fact, help her by listening to her, encouraging her, sharing my day to day activities with her, and by the certain knowledge of my love for her.

There may be times that we are unable to physically help loved ones, but we must never underestimate the power of expressed love to help them through the difficult times. (Remember the old song “Love Lifted Me”?) Love needs to be “lived out” in order to be effective. The “living out” of love can take many forms – a phone call, an email, a card or letter.

Also important is giving hope, encouragement and comfort by sharing how God has worked in our own lives to bring us through difficult times.

2Co 1:3  Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and the God of all comfort,
2Co 1:4  He comforting us in all our trouble, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in every trouble, through the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.

1Th 5:11  Therefore comfort one another, and edify one another, even as you also do.

And let us never forget the power of prayer!   Jas 5:16  …, and say prayers for one another so that you may be made well. The prayer of a good man is full of power in its working.

PS: Have you told your loved ones today that you love them?  Have you prayed for them?  “Get ‘er done!”

Blessings

Leave a Reply

