April Showers

I volunteer at an adult day centre. Every morning we gather together for coffee and tea and discuss different topics; today’s topic was “April Showers”. I “tried” to “sing” a song made famous by Al Jolson in the 1920’s, called “April Showers”. One of the verses is as follows, “though April showers may come your way, they bring the flowers that bloom in May. So if it’s raining, have no regrets, because it isn’t raining rain, you know, it’s raining violets”.

Basically, the song is telling us to be positive and look on the bright side of things, even if our present situation is not enjoyable. I needed that reminder today because my “foggy doldrums” have progressed to lightening in my joints, thunder rumbling inside my head and heaving seas in my stomach.

I don’t know about you, but when I am unwell or “life” is being difficult, I just want to curl up on the couch wrapped in a soft blanket and have somebody bring me cups of tea, hold my hand and listen to me moan and whimper. After all, a pity party is no fun all by yourself!

Yesterday, I was feeling somewhat sorry for myself and I knew that I had to do something to rise above it, so I put on a Christian music CD and sang praise and worship unto God. Pretty soon, I was even dancing before God. While my singing and dancing might not have impressed the neighbours, I think that God was pleased and pretty soon I was feeling great – no pain, fatigue or depression. Body, soul and spirit were energized; I was given “wings” and I didn’t even have to drink Red Bull!

Eph 5:18  … be filled with the Spirit, vs.:19  speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord; vs. 20  always giving thanks for all things to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ,…

There is a chorus, based on Isaiah 61:3, which says, “put on the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness, lift up your voice to God…”. I have found it to be true that singing praises to God does actually “lift the spirit of heaviness”.

There is another song that goes “Count your blessings, name them one by one, count your blessings, see what God has done”. I try to do this on a regular basis, but I especially find it helpful when I am going through a difficult time. Sometimes, on my really bad days, I just thank God for helping me to get through another day. But most of the time, purposely listing all the blessings that I enjoy each and every day, helps me to realize how much God has blessed me and how much I have to be thankful for.

I would like to encourage you to remember that, just as April showers lead to beautiful May flowers, God has beautiful things in store for us if we can just hold on through “the grey and rainy days” that occur in our lives.

Jas 1:2  Let it be all joy to you, my brothers, when you undergo tests of every sort;
Jas 1:3  Because you have the knowledge that the testing of your faith gives you the power of going on in hope;

1Pe 4:12  Dear brothers, do not be surprised, as if it was something strange, if your faith is tested as by fire:
1Pe 4:13  But be glad that you are given a part in the pains of Christ; so that at the revelation of his glory you may have great joy.

So keep looking for that rainbow after the storm!

Blessings

2 thoughts on “April Showers

  1. Wilma says:

    Good stuff Shari! I’m feeling doldrumed today. Music truly lifts the heart…Alan shared Ephesians verse at Prayer yesterday! God is in the fog too. Keep posting..love your words and thoughts…so true and inspiring.

    Like

  2. Shari says:

    Thank you 🙂 And thankfully yes, God is in the fog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

