What’s in a name?

I think it was Shakespeare who wrote something to the effect of,  “a rose by any other name would still smell as sweet”.

So what does Shakespeare have to do with my blog? Not mucheth! Except that in yesterday’s post, I mentioned that I had wanted to call my blog “LIVINGroom”. However, when I went to register my blog name, somebody had had the temerity to already be using my name! “How wude”, as Jar Jar Binks would say. I don’t know whether I should be flattered or frightened that someone else shares my creative thinking processes!

Anyhow, I was left trying to figure out a “clever” but meaningful alternative. I wanted the title to say something about me and the theme of my blog, as well as, hopefully, being inspirational to readers. As I was thinking about what I wanted to convey about the driving force behind my blog, the words “habitation of my heart” came to my mind. So I went searching (using a wonderful study tool called “e-Sword“) for a scripture that contained those words or that idea. I found the perfect scripture verse: Exo 15:2 “The LORD is my strength and song, and he is become my salvation: he is my God, and I will prepare him an habitation; my father’s God, and I will exalt him.” I have used this verse as my blog theme as I feel that it pretty much sums up what I feel, think and do. It is at the “heart” of me.

While the above scripture describes the “heart” behind my blog, there are two others scriptures which I hope will make up the “bones” of the blog. The first one is 2Ti 2:15  “Study earnestly to present yourself approved to God, a workman that does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the Word of Truth.” And the second one is Pro 17:22 ” A merry heart does good like a medicine…”.

I hope that my blog will provide a little teaching, a little fun, encouragement and a lot of fellowship. So please feel free to post your comments, concerns, questions and prayer requests.

I hope that you find my blog to be a positive, uplifting and encouraging experience as I seek to share life lessons (some tough) that God has taught me throughout the ups and downs of my life.

2 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. Liisa says:

    Oh Shari I am so thrilled you have decided to do this! I am always blessed by your thoughts and comments during Bible study and the encouragement you have been to me, so I know you will be ablet o be blessing to so many through this new ministry!
    Thank you for sharing it with me!
    Blessings,
    Liisa

    Like

Leave a Reply

